Audio Interviews

Audio Interviews with Authors, Illustrators and Experts

Susan Raab has recorded interviews with luminaries in the children’s book field since 2004. To hear her interviews, visit The Northeast Children’s Literature Collection, UConn’s Teacher’s for a New Era and Recess! Radio. She can also be heard on Kids Public Radio.


David Macauley: Author/Illustrator, How We Work, The Way Things Work, Building Big



For UConn Teachers for a New Era feature interviews, click below on the person’s name.







Laurie Halse Andersen, Author, Speak, Fever 1793 (Margaret A. Edwards Award, National Book Award Finalist)

Avi: Author, Crispin (Newbery Medal)

Lori Benton: General Manager/Publisher of its fiction imprints, Capstone

Barbara Brathova: Main Curator, Biennial of Illustrations Bratislava

Roberta Chinni: Director, Bologna Children’s Bookfair; 2009, 2008

Gennifer Choldenko: Author Al Capone Does My Shirts (Newbury Honor)

Jean-Luc Dubois: Managing Director, Editions Caramel

Katie Davis: Author/Illustrator, Who Hops? Mabel the Tooth Fairy, The Curse of Addy McMahon

Nancy Devard: Illustrator, The Secret Olivia Told Me (Coretta Scott King Honor)

Kathleen Duey: Author, The Unicorn’s Secret + bestselling series books

Denise Fleming: Author/Illlustrator, In the Small, Small Pond (Caldecott Honor)

Marla Frazee: Illustrator, A Couple of Boys Have the Best Week Ever (Horn Book Honor)

Roy Freeman: Author/Illustrator, including discussion of Don Freeman’s classic, Corduroy

Patricia Fry: Pop-up Book Artist, The Nutcracker

Zoreh Ghaeni: Jury President 2010 Hans Christian Andersen Award, Historian Children’s Literature Iran

Nina Hess: Author/Senior Editor Mirrorstone Books

Roberto Innocenti: Illustrator, The Adventures of Pinocchio, Hans Christian Andersen Award winner

Susan Jeffers: Illustrator, Three Jovial Huntsmen (Caldecott Honor)

Norton Juster: Author, The Phantom Tollbooth, Hello, Goodbye Window (Caldecott Medal)

Stephen Kellogg: Author/Illustrator, Pinkerton series, Regina Medal

E.L. Konigsburg: Author, 2x Newbery Medal winner, From the Mixed up Files of Mrs. Basil

E Frankweiler & A View from Saturday

Aileen Leijten, Animator/Illustrator, Hugging Hour and Bella & Bean

Christine L’Heureux: Author & Publisher, Caillou series

Wendy Lichtman: Author, Do The Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra

Dr. Jolita Liškeviciene: The Vilneus Academy of Fine Arts, the Institute of Art History in Lithuania, and the Coordinator
for the Lithuanian Illustrators Exhibition at the 2011 Bologna Book Fair

Lois Lowry: The Giver, Number the Stars, Crow Call (two Newbery Awards, Margaret A. Edwards Award)

Leonard Marcus: Author/Historian, Dear Genius: The Letters of Ursula Nordstrom

Taine Mundondo: Executive Director, African Publishing Network

Barry Moser: Artist, In the Beginning (Newbery Honor), National Book Award

Ann-Janine Murtagh: Publisher, HarperCollins UK

George Nicholson: Literary Agent

Liz Page: Executive Director, International Board on Books for Young People

Kimberly Pauley: Author, Sucks to Be Me

Nancy Pearl: Author, NPR commentator, Book Lust

Susan Beth Pfeffer: Bestselling Author, Life As We New It

Carla Poesio: Consultant to Bologna Children’s Bookfair; 2011 interview, 2010 interview and 2008 interviews

Maria Salvadore: Children’s Literature Educator, Author

R.A. Salvatore & Geno Salvatore: Author, 18 NYT Bestsellers/Co-Author, The Stowaway

Gyozo Sarkany: President, Society of Hungarian Illustrators

Jon Scieszka, U.S. Children’s Literary Ambassador & Bestselling Author, The Stinky Cheese Man, The True Story of the Three Little Pigs

Sameer Shariff: Founder & CEO, iPublish Central

Bob Shea: Author/Illustrator, Big Plans

Shin, Kyung-Sook & Moon, Seung Hyun: Representatives of the Korean Publishers Association

Umesh Shukla: Chief Operating Officer, Auryn Inc.

Beniamino Sidoti: Consultant Children’s Division, De Agostini Editoire

David J. Smith, Author, If the World Were a Village (international bestseller) and If America Were a Village


Lane Smith: Author/Illustrator, The Stinky Cheese Man (Caldecott Honor)

Claudia Soeffner: English Language Specialist, International Youth Library
Art Spiegelman & Francoise Mouly: Author, Maus (Pulitzer Prize), Jack and the Box (TOON)

Art Editor, New Yorker/Editorial Director, TOON Books

Mark Teague: Author/Illustrator, Dear Mrs. LaRue, How Do Dinosaurs series

Erik Titusson: Director, Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Tiffany Trent: Author, Hallowmere series
Monica Weiss: Head of Argentinean Illustrators Exhibition

Miroslava Vallova: Head of the International Department, Center for Information on Literature, Slovakia

Ashley Andersen Zantop: Publisher, Trudy Corporation/Soundprints

Jim Zubkovich, Publisher/Manga Author, Manga


For Recess! Radio briefs, click below on the person’s name.

Heidi Cortner Boisen

Margaret Quinlan: Publisher

Patsy Aldana: Publisher

Judy Galbraith: Publisher

EL Konigsburg: Author

Jeffrey Garrett: Children’s Literature Expert

MT Anderson:Author

Stephanie Bange: American Library Association

Peter Sis: Author/Illustrator

Robie Harris: Author

Sandra Boynton: Author/Illustrator

Kate DiCamillo: Author

Meg Cabot: Author

Jan Brett: Author/Illustrator

Candice Ransom: Author

Tomie DePaola:Author/Illustrator

Nikki Grimes: Poet

Katherine Paterson: Author

Brian Selznick:Author/Illustrator

Kids Public Radio